Things to look up and review

Horus – Sun God of Egypt, born on December 25th of the virgin Isis-Meri. Had 12 disciples he traveled about with, performing miracles such as healing the sick and walking on water. After being betrayed by Typhon, Horus was crucified, buried for 3 days, and resurrected

Attis, of Phyrigia, born of the virgin Nana on December 25th, crucified, placed in a tomb and after 3 days, was resurrected.

Krishna, of India, born of the virgin Devaki with a star in the east signalling his coming, performed miracles with his disciples, and upon his death was resurrected

Dionysus of Greece, born of a virgin on December 25th, was a traveling teacher who performed miracles such as turning water into wine

Mithra, of Persia, born of a virgin on December 25th, he had 12 disciples and performed miracles, and upon his death was buried for 3 days

And were there not some parallels also in the Epic of Gilgamesh? I wonder if I still have my copy.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things to look up and review

  1. Alan says:

    I liked it. Understated and perhaps a little too academic. No adventure and a touch of world – weariness. I recognised Bixby as the author of ‘It’s A Good Life’ from the old Hugo Award days. It is a bit like a story I once wanted to write myself. I have always been fascinated by the implications of “immortality”.

    Like

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    And your opinion of it please?
    Have you read the background re the author?

    Like

  3. Alan says:

    I have that film.

    Like

  4. Pilgrim33 says:

    I think the most I’ve seen referenced was 13 in that tradition.
    And this is very good.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0756683/

    Like

Please comment!

