Nature Watch

Rosellas have appeared.  I gather they are passing through on some sort of seasonal migratory pattern?  More when I learn more.

I heard a kookaburra this morning.  The first time I have encountered one in town.  Hard to spot him/her though.

I went out late at night with a camera on a tripod, a bunch of flashes and a superpowerful torch in order to take some time exposures of the sleeping galahs roosting across the road.  If I had succeeded there should have been some interesting shots.  Except they don’t sleep there after all.  No sign of them. Yet next morning they were all squawking and circling as usual before disappearing for the day.  So it seems they gather here twice a day, circle and squawk, then go elsewhere.  A mystery.  I must get to the bottom of that.

One of my rural clients has a dam on his property which is filled with Yabbies.  He gave me four which are now in my aquarium.  They are a creamy yellow, the same colour as the clay silt that muddies the water of the dam.  Those I  found in the creek when baiting mosquitoes are black.  The ones he keeps in an aquarium for his kids have turned a pretty blue.   They like frozen beans, mesclun salad and chicken breast.  And apparently maggots and termites too.

The carrot peel is no longer being taken from under the shrubs. I guess the bluetongue is away hibernating.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

