In Between

That picture of me on the right was taken in Fiji, in 2009, as part of a group photo at the Buabua water treatment plant.  Less than a year later one of my friends looked at it and asked when it was taken.  When I told her she looked shocked.  She looked me over and asked frankly “what the hell happened?”  It is good to have friends who can speak their mind.

Still trying to figure out myself what happened.

Things may be looking up.  My idiosyncratic, erratic and occasionally self indulgent diet scheme appears to be paying off .  My watch is slipping around on my wrist, and my trousers keep trying to fall down, despite cinching my belt tighter. I have had to resort to wearing braces to keep them up.  Unfortunately I have not yet reached the stage that I can wear the pants stored in the hall cupboard.  The ones that unaccountably shrunk until I could not close the fly. The ones I have been keeping for years because they are too good to throw out.

I did notice, however, that there is a lot more room in two of my five motorcycle jackets, but I still cannot zip up the smallest of them that I bought before I went to Fiji.  One, the very first,  is now so worn and torn that I should throw it out.  It was cheap and poorly made.  As I gained weight I stretched the seams until they tore.  I sewed them up by hand, and they held for a while before giving again.  This was annoying as they were claimed to have strengthened seams that would not burst in an accident.  Yet I burst them with nothing but steady pressure.

Despite this encouraging trend, I am still not weighing myself, and I still get a shock whenever I stand nude before the mirror, or even when I see myself in a photograph. Which is why I don’t like to be photographed and try not to look at mirrors.

Next step: enrol at the Gym. I remember when I was addicted to my hour a day in the basement gym at the Ministry. That was when my smallest jacket actually fit.  So there is a goal for 2012.  Make that jacket too big.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Between

  1. dayvebutler says:

    Glad to hear this. Steady as she goes is the way.
    dave

    Like

Please comment!

