On Special at Woollies

Inveterate bargain hunter that I am, I cannot go to Woolworths without checking out the specials and in particular the “Reduced For a Quick Sale” shelves. The short dated stock is a good source of cheap comestibles. As the best-by date approaches, Woollies goes into a panicked flurry of price reductions so that on the eve of the dreaded deadline, the price may have been halved and halved again. In the case of red meat especially, the meat is still improving. It will keep a few more days at least and can be frozen for months. I do have to be careful not to buy more than I can freeze. Otherwise I would have to cook it all in a few days and that rather messes up the intention to save money and eat more sensibly.

I have a cupboard full of specials in cans, jars and packets.  I am certainly prepared for a disaster.

I have a lot of fun deciding what to do with the bargains I buy. I still have a block of speck in the freezer as I haven’t a clue what to do with it.   All suggestions appreciated.  In return, check out my recipes

That is my writing exercise for tonight.  The recipe and this entry.

I was up too late last night and I need some sleep.

Night all!

 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

