The Voice (cont)

“Turn back where possible”

“I am just heading out for heaven’s sake”.  It was plain that having set Lara to take me ‘home’ on the last ride, we clearly had not reached the exact position she thought of as the destination.

“It is plain”, said Lara, “that having set me to take you ‘home’ before, we did not reach the exact position of the destination. You must have set the position wrong.  You know I am going to try to take you back at every opportunity until we get to the right spot, don’t you?”

“Look”, I said. “I sat on the bike outside the garage door and pinned the current position then saved it as a favourite and named it ‘HOME. When we got home on Friday you said ‘Arriving at your destination on the right’  I thought it odd at the time, because the garage was on the left”.

“My left or yours?”

“Was that an attempt at humour?”

“Route recalculation…  Prepare to turn left in 300 metres…   Take the next left.  ”

I didn’t.

“Turn back where possible.  Oooh!” she sounded frustrated.  Can disembodied recorded voices sound frustrated?  “Look, why don’t you cancel the route?  Set a new one. Where are we going anyway?”

“Woodanilling.  Then out onto some back roads until I feel a bit lost.  Maybe do a bit of herping.  After that you can take me home again”.

“Route recalculation…  Prepare to turn right in 300 metres…   Take the next right.  Oooh!  All this route recalculation is frustrating”.

I pulled over to the shoulder and stopped, took off a glove and prodded her screen.  The menu popped up and I touched “Route” and then “Cancel”.   I touched it once more to assure her that I really wanted to cancel the  navigation.  “There”.

“Thanks.  I feel uncomfortably pulled when we are going the wrong way”.

“Welcome”.  I rode on with only the sound of the exhaust, and wind.

 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

