Easter Email.

Easter again. Thinking of you! Happy Ishtar!

Non-sequitur: I have new motorcycle boots. They are still smeared with smashed locust.

I had a pretty good time on the great cross Oz trip, now I look back over it.  The main problem was that it all seemed to be over in a flash.

We covered a total of 5,984 km by my odometer, in 16 days of riding and one rest day on Sunday 25th. We mostly did about 350k a day, except for across the Nullabor, which we did in two hops of 672 and 528k, and we had one short day from Norseman to Esperance of about 200k. I have updated the previous blog entries a bit to show the route in stages in Google Maps, and I still plan to go back and expand it a little more with a bit of detail, musings etc.

We had some interesting group dynamics that I am still pondering.

It was a great ride and I enjoyed it very much. There were some disappointments of course, mainly because I have different expectations of group riding.  I had hoped it would be all for one, one for all with plenty of allowance for stopping and keeping up. As it was either Gerry or I fell behind a lot. I would have liked to spend a bit more time sightseeing and exploring side roads and tourist spots. Also to have time just to take photos, rather than quick snapshots from the saddle.  I ended up alone a lot of the time, because I fell behind most frequently.  Three main reasons, my knees, my interest in looking around and taking photos, and the fact that my bike did not cruise comfortably at the pace set by the others.  Falling behind occasionally meant ending up on a different route even, when the others turned off without waiting for me. At first I found it irksome, but in the end I simply made sure I knew what our final destination was for the day, and just muddled along.

There was nearly always a few hours of daylight left at the end of the day, and I felt we could do shorter hops and longer stops in interesting spots, or more side trips to nearby locations.

Half way along the route, the others decided they would prefer it if I had a room to myself. It seems my snoring has become much worse lately. That increased the accommodation costs somewhat. Dad says that indicates I should get tested for Apnoea – a condition he has.

Now here I am back at work, and it is almost as if it all never happened, except I am still tired out and look forward to an early night at the end of the day. But I am thinking about what my next bike should be, and how long I will need to save for it. Maybe a 1300/1800 Vstar, or a 1700 Vulcan Voyager.

Tomorrow I have a lift to Perth to pick the white lady up and bring her home for a good scrub and polish. Then we shall ride again somewhere, before she goes in to Pep for a service on Tuesday.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easter Email.

  1. Alan says:

    What can I say? I cannot quell the poet in me!

    Like

  2. Bob Macfarlane says:

    I like “shorter hops and longer stops in interesting spots”

    Like

Please comment!

