Motorcycle Diary Part Six: A Plaque of Locust.

Riding today from Esperance to Albany, we encountered several swarms of locusts.  Being hit by a locust at 100KPH is more painful than being hit by a paintball.  Being hit by a swarm is much more so – and messier too.  My jeans, boots, jacket and helmet, and any part of the bike and its accoutrements facing forward are all smeared with kacky grasshopper goo which dries in the wind to a tacky mess that is going to be a real bugger to remove when the trip is over.   Talk about biofilm…

Next day, from Albany, we rode to Bridgetown,  me getting separated again.

Then, on our last day we rode  the back roads around Nannup before heading for Perth.

At Pinjarra we all got separated, I came home via the Kwinana and Roe highways, Steve went another way, and Gerry and Jaimie yet another. After a couple of coffees, I jumped in my car and drove to Katanning. I was home by 7.30 pm and in bed by 8.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

