News Flash – No Flash

My little el cheapo $76 Sony camera I bought duty-free in November died a horrible death today.  Sand and an overzealous application of CRC.

Mea culpa.

I should have handled it more carefully instead of thrusting it into my pocket turned on.  And I should not have dropped it in sand. And I certainly should not have flooded the lens mechanism with CRC in an attempt to free it.  Until I did that the camera might have been salvageable.

It took pretty good shots for a cheap little point and shoot. Unfortunately it turned out to be a not very robust camera.  For my next point and shoot I think I should get an Olympus µ TOUGH-8010.

That will do a pretty good point and shoot job on the trip, and can be used in the rain too.  It will tide me over until I decide what DSLR I should get.  Because eventually , that is the way to go if I want to be a real photographer.  And I do.  I have finally decided what I want to be when I grow up.  A Motorcycling Grey Nomad Photographer.

Still, no hurry, eh.

I had a borrowed older version of the µ TOUGH on my SOPAC trip in December 2009 (Was it only that long?  A lifetime has passed since!) and took these photos in Palau (underwater) and Guam.  My 828 was languishing in a police store room back then, which is why I borrowed the  µ for the trip.

Also dying is my F828, which travelled round the world with me in September 2008, and which has captured some wonderful memories over the years.  Time to look for a replacement.  In the meantime it is back to the old F717.  It too has served me well, and is still going strong. Its only defect is that it has a few megapixels and  features less than the 828 and less still than modern successors.  Obsolescence.  Even the 828 is old by today’s standards.  The main reason I love these cameras is the ability to film in infra red using night-shot and a filter.

It produces some arty effects once Photoshopped.  Since I only do that on rare occasions, I can get by in the meantime.

Bloody annoying that this happens just as I am about to embark on the most exciting photo opportunity since Palau.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to News Flash – No Flash

  1. Alan says:

    I wanted to be a writer before. Now I want to be a photographer. Perhaps you are right Dave. Back to writing. After all I have been teaching my HPO/EHO colleagues for years, – “If it is not written down, it did not happen”!

    Of course that does not necessarily mean the corollary is true…

    Like

  2. You will just haveto hone your memory skill and ability to describe in words. Write a bloody good journal!
    cheers
    I too am getting excited for you!

    Like

Please comment!

