Betty’s Bay

A fine hot day on Saturday.  I set off by car with my swag in the boot, and an esky of water, fruit and juice, to try out Betty’s Bay.

Of course as is usual when I head south, somewhere around the Porongorups, the rain set in. Undeterred I carried on.

Saw a few ‘roos on the way, but otherwise an uneventful ride and despite having no GPS I found the road easily.  as soon as I arrived  I set up camp and went for a dip.  That was why I came and nothing was going to prevent it.  It has been such a long time, and I need a ritual  immersion in the ocean.

Despite the weather, the water was not that cold, for a Kiwi, at least.  I was the only person in the water and I did not go far from the beach even though I could tell this was a very safe and sheltered bay, and had been told it is the safest swimming around.

The wind and rain made it actually colder out than in, and I towelled off, put on some dry clothes, and crawled into my sleeping bag to warm up.  I dozed, and when I awoke, I found my camping neighbours had moved their camper-van to the other side of the park.  From this I inferred that I still snore.  A fact confirmed later on in conversation.

I had a good night’s sleep, zipped up tight in my swag.  Luckily it was not raining when I needed my midnight trip to the bushes, and I even got to look at the stars for a while before the clouds returned and the rain started again.  It was still raining when I rose at 6. The day looked quite bleak.

A shame about the weather.  This is a lovely area and reminds me a little of the west coast of Ireland, though the greens are different.  I intend to explore it some more.  But the weather did not look like improving, and of course I had not packed my anorak  or my walking shoes, having expected to spend my weekend swimming in a warm sea under a blazing sun.  Ah well.  It is a lovely spot and I shall return.

Back to Katanning, where I hung everything out to dry in the blazing sun, and had a nap.  

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Betty’s Bay

  1. Pingback: Iascaire agus oráiste agus liomóidí | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

  2. Alan says:

    Very unlikely here. Maybe around Perth.

    Like

  3. I was thinking more of the two-legged ratfink variety of danger.

    Like

  4. Alan says:

    Safety in the sea is a concern, but I am well qualified there. No problems on land unless the other campers come after me with pitchforks for snoring. One has to be aware that some venomous snakes are around but they are not truly a threat if one is sensible.

    Like

  5. Looks nice.
    No safety worries?
    I’d be reluctant to do that in N.Z. now.

    Like

Please comment!

