Premonition

Speaking of premonition, last week at Thursday night bowls, I bought two raffle tickets.  I handed them to Rachael, who had just bought me a drink, and told her to choose one.  She did and I thought to myself “Whichever you choose, the other will win the meat pack”.  I did not look at the tickets or the numbers. “164” said Rachael. “Good luck” Said I.

Soon they did the draw.  Rose took the fruit basket. The next draw was for the meat pack.

“156” they called.

“That must be my number”, I thought, looking at the ticket for the first time.

Yep.  I won the meat pack just as I expected.

The last time that happened was at a dog trial in Napier, when I knew with the same absolute certainty, that I was going to win a tartan patterned Thermos. And did.

It is something I have tried to reproduce. To force.  But it is not possible.  It is also difficult to explain when one is a rational being.  Coincidence is the usual response.

Although there was also the time in Ranui when my phone rang.  On the line was a DJ from some radio station.  He had rung a number at random from the phone book and proceeded to tell me that there was a prize going of $360 and a certain number of cents.

If I could guess how many…

“47” I said promptly without any thought at all.

“Congratulations!  You have been listening”.

“No. I haven’t had the radio on all day”.  It was true. I had not.

I could tell he was peeved.  But what could he do?  He made a few more congratulatory noises, told me the cheque would be in the mail and rang off.

The money duly came.  $360.47

Coincidence. Odds: 100 to 1.

Except I knew I had won the moment he asked the question.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Premonition

  1. Alan says:

    I am of course sceptical. It may well be that I am fooling myself with hindsight. That I “remember” being certain of the win only after I did actually win. Up to then perhaps I was just hoping. In other words, if I had not won, I would not have recalled being certain I would. The FSM knows that there have been many occasions when I hoped I would win something, and did not.

    I doubt everything, even my own sure and certain knowledge. Especially after I insisted that June and I went somewhere together once, only to realise later that it was a previous lady and I.

    Like

  2. Well..I do remember feeling very bright when I waked onto wet glass carrying an unearthed lamp once.

    Like

  3. Alan says:

    So that is what they mean by current thinking….

    Like

  4. Perceiving time as linear is like pointing at two currents in the pudding and saying “This one comes after that one.”
    You had a moment of knowing which our day-to-day senses perceive as future but which have always been in the wholeness of the universe,or if you prefer,have always been in a potential state of possibility.
    Disturbingly Buddhist theology has long insisted that this is the way things are.
    But then we risk getting into my theories about previous cycles of civilization and high technology and the confused cultural memories of them which have lead to such concepts as ‘magic’,i.e. confused memories of how to control lost technology,and the legends of planet wide wars.
    As I am sure you have read the Sanskrit books describe an atomic explosion with great faithfulness.
    We’ll know one day.

    Like

Please comment!

