Australia Day

A day off work today to celebrate Australia Day.  Some workmates have organised a barbecue for this afternoon.  I am about to prepare my contributions, which I shall probably blog on my food blog later, if they turn out edible.  It is now 0615 and the thermometer on the wall outside my back door says it is 19 degrees already.  I think it will be another scorcher.

A young colleague from the Shire is off to Japan for a fortnight, and happens to be returning at about the time I need to drop my bike off at Sue & Steve’s place.  At first I was going to get a lift back with her and her parents, but then she kindly offered to drop my car off in Forrestfield for me.  She will set off this morning.  Now I can ride up any time and drive back.  One problem solved without having to take a 6 hour bus trip.  Still have to figure out how to get back to Perth on March 10.  Probably I shall take the car and figure out how to get it home after the trip.

My Manfrotto camera clamp arrived yesterday, and is going to be very useful indeed.  Definitely obviates the need to carry a tripod around assuming I can find something the clamp it to.  If all else fails the bike is there.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Australia Day

  1. Alan says:

    That’s cool. Get over here when you can later this year! I am planning on getting Jamie’s Suzi Boulevard 900 when he is finished with it after this trip. We can ride!

    Breaking news…

    I may actually be on the verge of having FRIENDS, as opposed to social acquaintances, here in town.

    Like

  2. Dave says:

    As Barb would say – it was mean’t to be. Everything is falling into place. Same here. I have scored some contract work redrawing Power company Hydro Dam schematics. There appears to be a large amount of work ahead so I am set for the year by the look of it.
    I’m enjoying it immensly. Good colleagues to work with, learning about large scale industrila electrical, and growing my drawing skills. Maybe being 60 ain’t too bad!

    Like

Please comment!

