bling and new shoes

I picked up my lady today.  Her new freeway bars gleaming in the sun.   She now has a new front tyre to match the back one.  A pair of Metzeler ME-880 Marathons.  Pep assures me they are the best tyres for handling, safety and durability on a bike such as this.

We went for an after-work spin along the  past the tip and down the back roads to Police Pools.

She definitely handles the gravel a little better, and went well on firm sand, though I still feel a bit uneasy on soft sand.  Anyhow she is not built for that sort of riding.  If I want to ride sand I should get a DT250.  Ah,  but on on the tarmac – Pep was right.  I sure could feel the difference.  A firm grip on the road even if there is a little loose gravel.  Cornering feels safer already, and I was not even going fast.   I was leaning confidently.  Even scraped the foot-board on the road.  Fortunately it has a sacrificial plate for just such eventualities.  Incredible what a difference a few mm of  synthetic rubber can make in the right profile.

I am not sure yet if I will be comfortable using the highway bars as a foot rest so that I can assume a different position now and then as I ride.  It feels a bit high.  Looks cool though.  I may yet have to invest in pegs for an alternative leg position.

 

At Police Pools

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to bling and new shoes

  1. DaveB says:

    Mate, I savor every blog on your runup to this trip. I love that you are doing it, I love that you have such a cool bike to do it on. It’s about time for you to do it for yourself. Get the pegs, strike the pose and ride with style. (Ponytail?) ;-).
    And Oh yeh – I am so fucking jealous…

    Like

  2. Alan says:

    She needs a wash and polish.

    Like

Please comment!

