Balmy Ride

Another balmy evening for an after-work ride.  Even at 5.15 we had temperatures in the very high twenties.   This time I rode out along Forrest Hill Road, down the back roads to Woodanilling.  No protective gear except a helmet, not even gloves.  Open toed sandals. Warm air flowed over me just like Fiji.  Except the roads here are better and the few drivers I encounter are better.  I only need to keep alert for Skippy who has been remarkably absent since I have been here, though I found his tracks and dung at Police pools last night.  I am not riding fast, even when not on gravel, because an insect hitting one above 70k or so stings unprotected parts worse than a paintball hit.  I am also keeping an eye out for beasts of the herpetological sort as I ride because I have been hearing encouraging stories from residents about snakes and large lizards bothering them.  Last week one of my colleagues found a five foot monitor stealing her dogs’ food while the dogs looked on in amazement.  She never thought of calling me.  I thought everyone here knew I have  mania for such things.  The word is certainly getting round though.  In the bank the other day another resident told me of a large green python in her garden.  She had thought of calling me, but she didn’t have my number handy.  Give me another year and I shall be known as the snake man of Katanning.

 

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

