With my Swag Upon My V-Star

My birthday present to myself arrived today; an Oztrail Biker Swag.  It should be wind and weather proof, insect proof, and snake proof.
A kilo lighter and considerably cheaper than the Burke and Wills brand, it was a bargain.
Besides, as far as I recall, Burke and Wills got lost.
For those not familiar with the term,  a swag – these days at least – is a sleeping bag-sized tent with insect screens. Mine is small enough to be carried on a bike.  Hence Biker Swag. The usual ones are now bigger than they used to be, because people carry them by car and don’t walk far with them… The old days of “with my swag all on my shoulder, black billy in my hand…” are now gone.
I may get a separate self-inflating mattress for it as it would roll up tighter than the one that comes with the swag.  I shall try it out first. 

The gentleman above is sitting on his swag.  

With my Swag upon my Shoulder

When first we left Old England’s shore
Such yarns as we were told
As how folks in Australia
Could pick up lumps of gold
So, when we got to Melbourne town
We were ready soon to slip
And get even with the captain
We scuttled from the ship

Chorus
With my swag all on my shoulder
Black billy in my hand
I travelled the bush of Australia
Like a true-born native man

We steered our course for Geelong town
Then north west to Ballarat
Where some of us got mighty thin
And some got sleek and fat
Some tried their luck at Bendigo
And some at Fiery Creek
I made a fortune in a day
And spent it in a week

With my swag all on my shoulder
Black billy in my hand
I travelled the bush of Australia
Like a true-born native man

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

