The Spending Spree is Over

Christmas is over.  I had a good time.  The bills are paid, the cupboard stocked and all is well with the world.  And though still debt free, I am nearly broke again.  A little while ago I had totted up a bank balance the like of which I had not seen for many years but with the latest bills I have reduced myself to a net worth of a remarkably omenic $365.  (I made that word up).  I have been here nearly year – just 12 weeks to go. I have gone from a financially cowed serf to a free man.  There is no reason I should not feel pleased with myself.

Apart from the trip to NZ, an IMac and an equivalent cash gift,  I have spent quite a few dollars on Christmas, on tools, on the motorcycle, on transport for the bike and myself to Sydney next March,  and most importantly – for a change – on myself.  On a few things I want, rather than need.  Such as a swag.  Soon I shall have a biker swag.  I saved $80 off the retail price and got free postage as well.  I am not too old to go camping.  I just may need to take my pillow along.  Now indeed, though I still do not have a boat or banjo, I do believe I have everything I could want for now.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Spending Spree is Over

  1. Alan says:

    Aye laddie. Just lead me to the billabong….

    Like

  2. So are you jolly now?

    Like

Please comment!

