Summer

Yesterday, at 3 pm, the weather stats for Katanning were:

Wed 15:00 WST

  • wind            S          4 kph
  • temp            34.5
  • dew point    31.2
  • feels like       56.0 (and how!)
  • rel humidity 83
  • fire risk           3
  • rain                 0

Yesterday was a very hot day, with the temperature reaching 34.5 C.  According to the report other factors made it feel as if it were actually 56.  It certainly was a scorcher. It was my first taste of what summer in the Great Southern will be like. They tell me to expect temperatures in the 40s before long. When I arrived here last March, people were already complaining of the cold, as the weather cooled down into autumn it was in the low to mid 20s, though I had found it quite warm. Yesterday was something else entirely. I set out to replenish the S-methoprene blocks in the shire streams, hoping to have it all done before the Christmas break, but I was beaten by the heat. It was pretty much impossible to be working outside. I should have gone out early in the morning, before the sun got too hot. In fact I decided to do so today, but that plan went awry too.

When I got home last night, I found my bluetongue bobtail on the lawn under the clothes line, looking perplexed. I wondered if the magpies had been harassing him, but he seemed unharmed. I fed him some snails and fruit from my tree. I had thought it was a plum but it turns out to be an apricot, I think. The fruit are pretty tasteless though. However Eric liked them, and ate one, but he rejected the piece of tomato I offered as well as the cooked cabbage. He really likes snails however and crunches them up with gusto. I spent a while searching out more from around the garden and he scoffed until he was full. Then he sat there staring at me for a while before meandering back into the shrubbery. Nice to know he is still there. Afterwards it occurred to me that I should have filmed him crunching snails, but I never thought of the camera at the time. I was probably not firing on all cylinders.

The evening was still very warm and so I decided to have a cold beer. I still have beer in the fridge from months ago – I drink it so rarely. It certainly went down well last night, and I used it to wash down the 8 pills I take before tea in the evening. Then I felt a little tired so I went for a lie down.

At 6.30this morning I awoke fresh and spry, having slept thru the night, though I vaguely recall getting up to pee at some point. And dreaming. I guess I slept for at least 12 hours. Is that what happens when one combines beer and fluoxetine? I am usually up with the daylight at 0500 so that was a surprise. I was a bit confused at first, especially when I tried to recall the evening before. It took a while for me to piece together the events after I left work, and fed Eric. It was the unusual sensation of hunger at that time of the morning that helped me to realise I had not eaten tea last night and in fact had crashed after the beer.

I feel good.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

