E-mailed

Pretty sure it’s not gout, Ian, I had a battery of tests and arthritis was the definite conclusion. Never did figure out the injury I suffered at Pelorus though. How is your Mum? Please give her and your Dad my regards .

Matamata in the outback is a very good description of Katanning! Not quite so many shops here though, I think. I used to work on a dairy farm just up the road from Matamata, up Mowbray Road in Waharoa.

No parking problems here in Katanning, even if all 50 of the local vehicles come to town at the same time!

You’ve been reading my blog! That’s flattering. The sleep mp3 sounds good. Thanks! I usually sleep with the mp3 player playing through the stereo, but I have to choose the music carefully or it is disturbing rather than restful. I have a pile of downloaded “Hearts of Space” programmes which are pretty good. I am pretty sure my sleep problems are drug induced. I am still on the antidepressants and on reflection I think the GP was right to recommend I stay on them a bit longer. I just wish I did not have this sleepy syndrome. It is almost like apathy. Choose: go for a ride, or lie down for an hour or two? Choice: lie down. It takes me all day just to do the laundry and vacuum the flat on the weekend.

I did watch the Boorman/McGregor series, very enjoyable. I think I liked LWD, the African part better, though the eastern European part of LWR was pretty interesting. I hope our trip will not be quite so adventurous. Certainly hope the roads will be better. My VStar is ok on a reasonable gravel road but is very dodgy in soft sand or deep gravel. It would be impossible on a badly potholed road. It too is hard to stand up if dropped. I lost it in in some slippery mud once and getting it up was a major task, especially since I could not get a very good purchase with my feet. The upside was that dropping it in soft mud meant no damage or scratches.

We are shipping our bikes from Perth to Sidney, flying over to join them, and then riding them back. Mostly along the south coast. We bypass Melbourne with its bizarre traffic laws by taking a ferry from Sorrento to Queenscliff and heading out through Geelong. So far there are four of us, but one, the oldest, may yet drop out. I am second oldest, and will be 60 by the time we go. My two brothers in law are barely in their 50s. We are staying in motels all the way, though I kind of wanted to camp out at least some of the time, using the famous Australian swag. Ah well I might do that myself, some other time. I was going to buy a swag at the Katanning Show earlier this year, when they were going cheap, but it can wait until next year.

I bought a cheap ($75 Au) Sony DSC S3000 camera duty-free on my trip to NZ. It is just a tiny pocket camera with only a few features, but it takes pretty good photos. Since I bought it I have not used the big camera. However I shall use the big one on the trip, for photos and as a movie camera. It takes good movies in daylight, and I am making a mount for it to go on the handlebars. Here is an example of a movie made with it (without a mount):

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

