Christmas

God I can’t believe I publicly admitted buying a dakimakura.

My policy of being frank.

It seemed an amusing idea at the time I came across it, and cheap enough for a spur of the moment purchase. Besides, the pillow itself is very practical for a man with a torn rotor cuff.    A Dutch wife is very useful indeed.  Speaking of which, the picture does kind of remind me of my first wife.  A bit.

I can laugh to myself/at myself, but how the hell will I explain it if I ever get to invite someone of the opp sex home?  Ah well, we can cross that bridge when we come to it, can’t we – Mrs F?  YOU don’t think I’m creepy do you?

I am actually quite looking forward to the Christmas break this year, despite being so far from my girls.  I have family to be with, a baby great nephew to spoil, and good food to share in company.  And a long bike ride to enjoy up there, and longer back if my plans work out.

I even have three mysterious gifts to open. One from the boss at work, two from Glenn in NZ.  I know Sue has found me a bay tree, and for myself I bought a nice new knife block.  One of the new sort with plastic bristles than can be removed for cleaning and sanitising.  Better than a slotted block of wood.  It even holds the mezzaluna.

Of course I also bought myself the crash bars and stuff for the bike, but that is a matter of practical expediency.   I do believe I just about have every material thing I could want now, except a boat and a banjo.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas

  1. Alan says:

    It’s just a pillow with a picture on it. Also known as a hugging pillow or Dutch Wife. I bought it to support my shoulder, not for gratification. Not that far gone yet….

    Like

  2. “how the hell will I explain it if I ever get to invite someone of the opp sex home?”
    That depends which model you bought.
    Just how realistic is this?
    And please don’t take the honesty and openness too far.

    Like

Please comment!

