Health Report

Visited Dr Cronje on Wednesday, and was very sad to learn he is leaving Katanning in February.  That means Dr Theron will go too.  Very sad.  Just as I found GPs I like.

Dr Cronje was pleased that my BP was down – 138/85 and encouraged me to do the cross country ride in March.  Just don’t forget to pack my pills.  I asked if I could wean myself off the anti-depressants.  I feel much better except I have noticed that they make me tired, or rather, sleepy.  I usually come home at lunch time for a power nap these days – I am really good at awaking after exactly 40 minutes – and I often need another nap after work before I have tea (if I bother to).  But he says I should stay on them a while longer.  Ok.

My diet is reasonable.  Coffee and muesli or Up & Go for breakfast, a light lunch before my nap, and a light evening meal except twice a week I indulge in something more satisfying, like steak and kidney, or sausages and mash.  My belt needs a new notch, and my pants slip down if I overload the pockets, so something is happening.  I am still not using the bathroom scales.

I still have not joined the gym, or gone to the pool but since I am usually  in bed early, I arise at dawn which is around 5, and go for a walk before breakfast. I have to – or I could not bring myself to take anything other than coffee at such an ungodly hour.

Only two coffees a day now, down from a high of eight or nine.

My knee has not troubled me lately – touch wood.  I experimented with various foods before concluding that it was footwear that was the problem.  Since I stopped wearing my older boots and shoes, and put on only new ones that are not worn at the heel, I have had no further knee problems.   My right shoulder is another story.  The rotor cuff injury still plagues me, and woe betide if I omit taking my panadol osteo.  Even so I still need to supplement them with super diclofenac some days.  I sleep on my left side with my right arm supported by a pillow.  Because she is supportive and comforting, I have named her Mrs F.

Mrs F – $25 from Ebay.

My sleep is plagued by dreams. Despite sleeping more these days than I ever have in my life, I feel I am not getting a good rest. Maybe because of the pills which perhaps cause these dreams.  Usually they are frustration dreams , in which I am trying to do something which is very difficult, and makes no sense,  but occasionally, and increasingly, I dream of people and relationships that are inevitably frustrating too, if you take my meaning.  My hand slides up under Mrs F’s pillowslip, searching for something that is not there.   I guess the good news is that the fluoxetine has not destroyed my will to live, so to speak.   And that is all I have to say about that.

So Thursday I succumbed to the bug that has been going round the office.  I did not suffer as badly as some, but nonetheless came home  from work after only a couple of hours, hit the sack and slept most of the day and through the night.  With the aforementioned dreams of course.  Much better today. I was spared the vomiting, and only suffered loss of appetite, which is a shame because I had made a crock of steak and kidney, and it really is delicious, but I have no appetite for it.  I had a handful of dried fruit and some juice with my pills and that is it.  Ah well. It will improve with age.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

