Preparations

Everything is pretty much straightened for the great trans-continental ride next March.  Steve has booked the bike transport to Sydney, and the airfares for the riders, so little remains to be done.   I just have to get my bike to Perth by 23 February, catch a bus back, and bus up again a couple of weeks later.

I have crash bars arriving from the States any day now, along with new wide easy grip levers for brake and clutch, and a cup holder, which I bought simply because there is such a thing.  Pep, the bike mechanic, will fit the bars next week and put on a new front tyre, so both tyres will be brand new.  I will keep the present front tyre until the new one is worn out, as there is still probably a good 5000k left in it.  It might be good enough for the trip, but I just thought it sensible to start out with the best possible tyres.  Pep is getting a match for the new rear tyre, which is a durable hard wearing tyre with good cornering grip.

I am making a camera mount for the handlebars, so I can film the ride without holding the camera.  I was lucky that my GPS came with two handlebar mounts and I am confident I can adapt the spare for one of my two Manfrotto heads. I have a ball head and a pan head.  Since I want to take the tripod to film ride-pasts, I guess the ball head must go on the bike.

I have already started compiling the sound track for the video!

One last thing is to do is make us all tee shirts to wear.

Something simple, I think.  A plain black tee with:

I’m REALLY looking forward to this.  Of course our thunder is somewhat stolen by these guys… who are doing the trip in a straight line, off road.  Not sure I would be up to that.  My last trail bike was the Yamaha DT250 that burst into flames between my legs at Red Beach some 40 years ago.

Also this chap seems to have been pretty adventurous.

UPDATE:

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Preparations

  1. Alan says:

    besides it is a bit of team spirit and a memento all in one.

    Like

  2. DaveB says:

    Hey, it sounds all bloody great. A real adventure, I can’t think of a better way to spend some time. Friends, bikes and the wide open spaces.
    Definitely keep us posted. The tee shirts- too much like a bad hollywood movie to me – or is that the point?

    Like

    • Alan says:

      Precisely! I am trying to get the others to read “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance” and Steve says we all have to watch “Wild Hogs”….

      Like

Please comment!

