Big C

Since I have been getting back on my feet, I have been pondering how I can repay the support, financial and otherwise, I received during my bad time, from kind and loving people who do not want to be repaid.  My conscience tells me I must do something, so I hope my final decision pleases you.

The Western Australia Cancer Council does a really remarkable job providing free travel, accommodation and other forms of support to cancer victims and their families to help with the burdens of long distance treatment and care.  I am still finding it mind boggling how very big Western Australia is and how far some people must travel for any more than basic local medical treatment.  Even for a scan of my torn rotor cuff I have to go to Perth, when I get around to making an appointment and taking a couple of days off for the trip.

I already know the strain and pain for family and friends when it is something more serious than that, so in the name of my late friend Jeff, victim of the big C,  I am making a regular monthly contribution to the Council.  I am sorry it is not in New Zealand, but I figure that wherever it is, cancer is, and does what it does.   I thought this was a more immediate and practical benefit than research into cures and such.

With all my love and gratitude

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Big C

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    Nice move.
    In my mind New Zealand is inevitably going to become an associate state or such like of Australia so the difference is nominal.
    A dick-head in the car this morning was lecturing his German work colleagues that New Zealand was not British.
    I might have been a little enthusiastic about educating him but at least I didn’t have to hide the body.

    Like

Please comment!

