The Loneliness of the Long Distance Motorcyclist, Part II

Part I

I am reading Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance  again.  Soon I shall know what it is that I forgot.  meanwhile in the real world, the thunderstorms and downpours of early summer daunt me not.  I shall ride today, rain or shine.

A different bike, a different country; my third to ride.  A different sense of loneliness.  All three better than before.  The Bike is bigger and better, the country through which I ride is bigger,and distances are longer and more interesting – and a different beauty from NZ or Fiji.  Being lonesome is not so bad.

A call out today to the airfield, where the radio operated lighting system would not activate.  Probably because of the electrical storms on Friday and Saturday.  It was all a bit beyond me at first but we finally worked out what to do to reset the system.  Then we tested it.  And it all worked as it should.

Home to lunch, and now for a ride. More back roads and reserves.  There is a snake out there waiting for me to find it.  But first I must bring in the washing as I suspect there will be more rain later today.  We certainly had plenty in the last few days, but we shall have a lot more.  The wheat and Canola growers have had enough.  They would like to harvest their crops unflattened.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

