A Tiring Day

Back out today poisoning mosquito larvae with blocks of S-methoprine.  I place a block in a string bag with a float, and tie it to a stake in the stream.  Very tiring work climbing in and out of the stream, which unfortunately was deeper in places than the height of my  gumboots.  I ended up carrying an extra few kilos around, and making sloshy squelching noises.  Pulling in last year’s dispersal bags I found a few native freshwater crayfish, but which type, I was not sure.  There are lots of species, and about 4 common names :  yabbie gilgie, marron and koonac, of which the favoured delicacy is marron.  There is a fishing season for them.  I think I found mainly gilgies, but one may have been a koonac.   In any case, I let them go.

I came home at the end of the day exhausted, stinking of mud, and limping.  I washed out my boots, stripped and threw all my clothes into the washing machine and showered.  A hot drink, a light meal, and now to bed.  Buggered…

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

