Fayte Giveth, and Removeth

In NZ, before I came to Oz, I lost a pair of glasses. They were graduated multifocal and polychromatic, the lenses darkening in bright light. I got them in Fiji, where I bought two pairs, one polychromatic and one not, for around Fj$800. They were much cheaper there. Finally, when I had a few dollars saved, I ordered another pair from the same optometrist in Fiji. I saved heaps by doing so. For Fj$600 (AUD$340) I got a nice new pair, which arrived last week. Then yesterday I promptly lost my other pair. I am just glad it had not been a bright sunny day, or I might have lost the new polychromatic pair.

I was conducting a mosquito survey along the streams of Katanning. Somewhere out there, I dropped my glasses. Between jotting notes in my notebook, I hung them on my shirt collar. I can’t believe I let that happen. I have been back to the last few places and searched to no avail. Bugger. Fecked by the fickle finger of Fayte.

On the upside, I discovered my first snake-neck turtle. Useful little buggers, they seem to be one of the factors that keep mosquitoes down in much of the shire streams. I lifted this one out to have a look at him, before letting him go. It was quite surprising how quickly he motored across the ground and back into the stream. I also discovered a lot of little tadpoles. I don’t know of what species. I was tempted to try raising some at home, but I guess they are better off in the wild. I wondered what kind of frog they will become. I hear the odd pobblebonk when I am out and about, and in fact very mysteriously, I can hear one at night somewhere near my home. I haven’t figured out where that might be yet. I am not aware of any standing water nearby. I shall look around. The problem with the sound of the pobblebonk is that it echoes, and from my back door it is very difficult to get a sense of direction of the source of the sound.

Still no snakes though. But that may be a good thing because it seems that three of the four species I am most likely to encounter are venomous, and unfriendly.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

