Dear IRD

Dear IRD

Thank you for the statement of account dated 05 Aug 2011, received yesterday.  I was a bit surprised because apart from what was to be worked out for the 2010-2011 year, I thought I had paid all that I owed you before I left New Zealand in March.  I find the statements of account you send me to be very confusing.  I had paid you two payments of around $11,000 and $9,000 and thought I was clear of debt at least until the 2010-2011 return assessment.

I would like to remind you of my circumstances as I explained by telephone before I came to Australia.  I left Fiji in October last year as a result of an unexpected marital break-up that required me to sell my home and cash in my retirement schemes in order to give half to my wife, who decided to leave me.  I would also like to remind you that it was I who contacted you in regards to taxation on my overseas income, and I have not tried to conceal the mistake I made when I assumed that my tax free income in Fiji would not be taxed in NZ.

 

On my return to NZ, I could not find work immediately, and it took some time to sort out my affairs and sell the house.  I was unemployed from October until I came to Australia in March and in that time I borrowed a considerable amount from family and friends in order to survive and keep up payments on the house I was trying to sell.  I still owe over $3,000.  When I sold the house and cashed in my retirement funds my wife took her half and left.  I gave a considerable proportion of what I had remaining to the IRD.  I also had to help my daughters establish themselves in a flat, as they are both still at University.  I had to give away things I could not sell and could not afford to bring to Australia.

I found work in Australia, and came here with little more than some clothes and a few personal belongings.  I have had set up in a flat, buy furniture and household effects and a car, which I am paying off.   In the meantime I have learned that I have been overpaid by WINZ, and must repay just on a thousand dollars to them.

Frankly, I am struggling with depression and the feeling I have lost everything, just as I am approaching 60 and should be looking forward to a comfortable retirement.

I am living modestly, and trying to save as much as I can here, but I do not yet have anywhere near the $8,678.39 I owe you.  I also want to repay my family and friends who are not so well off they can afford to forgive my debt to them.  I want to stress that I am not trying to avoid my commitments, but to manage them.  I would therefore like to make some arrangement for regular payments if that will be acceptable to you.  If so, please advise me of how to arrange it.

 If you wish to discuss this matter directly, please contact me on xxxxxx xxxxx

Yours faithfully

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dear IRD

  1. Alan says:

    I wish I could think that logically BEFORE I fuck up…

    Like

  2. Pilgrim says:

    Very simple and eloquent by the way.
    I wish I could think that logically.

    Like

  3. Pilgrim says:

    Have you considered filing an appeal against the IRD assessment?

    Like

Please comment!

