Lara Stomps Garmin

One Sunday a couple of weeks back Tim and I explored the Stirlings by car.  I was showing Tim around the Great Southern, and so we did the trip I was planning to ride myself later; Down through Cranbrook, along Salt River Road and up Red Gum Pass.   It was too wet to go by bike anyway.  In summer I shall do it again. Now I have seen it, I can see it will be a great ride, when the road is dry.   Some spectacular scenery but the weather was not really good for photos.  I took a load that I was not overly happy with.

 

We hoped we’d see some wildlife, but all we spotted was an emu in the bush on the side of the road.  By the time we had stopped and readied the cameras, it was gone.  So we drove on at the ready but saw no more.  After a pie and chips fom a roadhouse on the chester pass road, we drove down to Albany, just for the hell of it, and had a very quick look around, then started on the road to Denmark.  Once we had gone a fair way along that road I thought we it was about time should head home so we would not be driving too long in the dark.  We both set our GPSs to show us the way.  Lara said to carry on and turn right up a side road ahead, and Garmin wanted me to do a U turn and go back.  Well, I was driving, so I decided to follow Lara’s directions, much to Tim’s concern.  He was convinced we would end up on some long route and not get home before midnight.  Lara was right. She was taking us up a side road to the Albany Highway, just south of Mount Barker, and even though a few kilometres up the road Garmin recalculated and agreed with her, if we had followed his directions from the start we would have had an extra half hour’s driving.  Not that that was a problem. We had gone out for a drive after all.   Lara may not know much about one way streets in Perth, but she sussed out the back roads this time.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

