A Reverie on Kalgoorlie

When I was in Ireland, and visited my Grandmother’s birthplace, I discovered in Quin near Ennis in Co. Clare, a memorial to Paddy Hannan, credited with discovering gold at Kalgoorlie.  Last week when I was in Kalgoorlie, I was reminded of this as I encountered a statue of Paddy in the main street.

Paddy Hannon

Kalgoorlie is a very interesting place. The amount of money being made – and spent – there is astounding. I was reading about a chap who made 15million in one afternoon when he found a huge nugget just lying around somewhere that he won’t reveal. The gold in large nuggets sells for up to 7 times its intrinsic value, because collectors like big nuggets… Even a trainee truck driver, or trainee technical assistant (fitter’s mate), starts out on around 86k until their 3 or 6 month probationary period is over, then move onto at least 109k. And that is for 7 day on / 7 day off shifts. Pretty cool. One only has to work 7 days in a fortnight rather than 10. Sometimes the day is longer though. In any case it is not quite the 6 months per year that some mistakenly describe it, but a damn sight better than unemployment, and better than many other forms of employment. What the hell am I doing being a health inspector? Surely some of my technical background fits me for something in Kalgoorlie?

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Reverie on Kalgoorlie

  1. Pilgrim says:

    You can drive hu?

    Like

Please comment!

