Damn but I don’t like the city much anymore.

Another trip to Perth over and done with.

On Tuesday morning I was up at four, showered shampooed shaved, breakfasted, coffeed and on my way by 0500.   Everyone said I did not need to leave that early.  But I did. Somewhere around Williams I had to brake suddenly for a kangaroo, and my thermos of coffee rolled off the passenger seat onto the floor with a sloshy tinkling sound.  The smell of coffee filled the car.  That will teach me to buy a cheap $16 Thermos instead of a good stainless steel one.   Never even got one drink from it before I broke it.

I made good time to Armadale and was all the way through to the Kwinana motorway in around three hours.  It took me an hour and 20 minutes to get off the Kwinana again at the other end.  Average speed along there between 4 and 6 kph.  There had been a truck breakdown in the outside lane.  It was still another 15 minutes  or so through traffic to the Department of Health, where I was attending a seminar.

So all in all,  4hrs 40 minutes. But I arrived before the workshop started, at ten..

After the seminar I stayed in a hotel (Aaron) right in the middle of the city.  70 Pier St.  As hotels go it was ok.  $96 per night.  Plus $25 for parking.  It has a good restaurant with pretty good food from what I could see of other people’s orders.  After a lively debate with the waitress over what constitutes a REAL Caesar salad, I ordered fish. It was good, and not expensive.

I went for a walk around the city, and sort of thought I might take in a movie if anything decent was playing, but I could not remember where the cinemas were.  I asked a woman at a bus stop, but she said “Sorry, I am a stranger here myself”.  I didn’t ask anyone else.  I just wandered ,  walked and wandered some more for a while, and finally wended my way back to hotel, and watched  What’s New Pussycat  on Foxtel.  Gad that was a bad film!  I remember going to see it at the Henderson Fleapit with Mum. It was the only film I recall ever going to with her.  It mystified me then why anyone thought it funny, and even more why it had been rated R.  It has not improved with age, and was not one of Peter Sellers best appearances.  Then I watched something with Russel Crow as a young Welsh boy in Perth in the 50s.   It was watchable, but I was tired and missed a few bits.  My room was so warm I had to put the Aircon on.  That is a change from the freezing temperatures here in the Great Southern.   I did not really get a good sleep, as usual when I am staying in a hotel – at least for the first night, so I was up betimes this morning and, without breakfast,  on the road by 7.30.  Back to work in Katanning before lunchtime.  But I am exhausted.   Early night tonight.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

