Four Day Weekend 2

Saturday

Housework and laundry done already, time to mount up and ride.

No matter which direction one rides from Katanning, one will pass a nature reserve.  So I headed out with the intention of hollowlogging in a new place and in the process, getting lost.  Then I would let the GPS take me home.

A few random turns off the highway past Woodanilling and I found Moojabing reserve, which had a nice rideable track. And hollow logs.  I even found one that was clearly inhabited by Something. I could see by the way the entry was trodden down. But if anything was in there, it was not coming out.

Onwards, along Trimmer road down Dumbleyung road onto Adams Road. A dirt track shingled with coarse quartz sand that was firm and a pleasure to ride.   Until I came to a dip with a huge puddle almost completely across the road.  Having experienced already at Lake Ewlymartup how such a track can be a quagmire underneath, and having no way to tell how deep the puddled ruts were, I tried to skirt the water on the very edge of the road.  There was a log embedded in the bank, and I slipped in the mud just enough to slide over and bang against it.  I was going very slow, but it caught my gear pedal and bent it.  Worse, the gear rod broke just behind the ball joint that connects it to the pedal.  No serious harm – just a new rod needed, and a bit of straightening of the rocker pedal.  But I now had no way of changing gear.  So with the aid of pliers I adjusted her into a gear low enough that I could take off with a bit of clutch slipping, and high enough that I could idle along comfortably around 50 KPH.

I set the GPS to take me to Pep’s workshop; Katanning Motorcycles. I hoped he would still be there. It was nearly 1pm.

The GPS wanted me to turn back, but I did not want to try negotiating the puddle again.

When I had ignored it’s advice to turn back a couple of times “Recalculating” said the GPS resignedly in its Lara Croft voice (The game one, not the movie one). I emerged on Warren Road, not at all far from home.  ” Turn right” said Lara. “Drive for 5.6 kilometres”.

I followed her instructions.  I am sure turning back when she said would actually have been longer. But she has been programmed to take me by sealed roads if possible.

Pep was still at the shop.  He will order in a new rod, straighten the gear rocker and call me when it is done.  I walked home with my camera, wallet and ration pack.

Two days of a four day weekend left, and no bike.

Bugger.

I suppose tomorrow I should do my NZ tax return.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Four Day Weekend 2

  1. Pingback: More About My Bike | Flitting amongst the Swanplants

Please comment!

