On Existence.

Still hanging in here.  Plenty to do to keep me occupied both at work and in my own time.  No social life whatsoever but I am still pretty content with my own company.  I do miss having someone to talk to occasionally, though.  From the time I leave work, until I return the next day I speak to no one, except perhaps a shop attendant now and then.  No social life whatsoever.  Perhaps I should start hanging around in bars. 

I miss the girls, and my few friends.  Sometimes I think I should get another dog.  Except I would have to take it out in the car when I would probably rather ride the bike.  Besides any dog I get now would probably outlive me. Who would take care of it?   No, a dog is not a good idea. 

Pretty mundane existence really.  I probably should be thinking about a Plan.  I like it here, but am I really going to become a loner?  It feels as if I may.

 I picked up my second hand 2004 Toyota Camry last night.  2.4 litres, automatic, electric everything, cd player and cruise control.  Strangely, I don’t feel the usual sense of elation from acquiring something so important.  I get a bigger thrill from finding Watties baked beans in the supermarket. Even more so if they are on special. 

 So, I have a car now.  Big deal. I guess that attitude suggests I am a biker at heart. It is probably a bad sign but I had a little talk to the bike.  I told her that despite the car intruding into our lives, it was there for pragmatic reasons only, and she was the lady of my life.  That is a bit sad too. 

 I bought the car because there are a very few things one cannot do with a bike, like carry large items home, collect daughters from airports – should they come to visit – go scuba diving or fishing down on the coast and, I suppose, stay warm and dry travelling in the frozen wastes of the Great Southern if I have to take a long non-recreational trip.  I have been repeatedly warned that it gets very cold here in winter.  In fact it has been known to snow, so they say.  I can pretty well believe it.  Some days and many nights have indeed been parky lately.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Existence.

  1. Pingback: Knock the Polish Off | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

  2. Dave says:

    Hi mate, I sure know the numb bum chum feeling. I love biking but not the sore behind. Most bikes I have owned have done it, a good excuse to stop for a coffee – if they’re available. I’m saving up my airpoints, let me know when you will have some time off. Can’t promise but will sure make it if I can.
    take care.
    dave

    Like

Please comment!

