My Weekend

I  was pretty busy this weekend, housework, ironing, and exploring.  Saturday morning I was looking at cars.  I am going to buy one.  There are some things one cannot do on a bike, especially if daughters visit, and I do not have private use of the Shire car which is somewhat annoying.  I am looking at a 2004 Toyota Camry with 116K on the clock.
On Sunday I went out and about on the back roads, honing my gravel riding skills.  I now have a brand new and somewhat expensive rear tyre on the bike, and it did make a difference.  I went for a walk around the Coblinine nature reserve looking for snakes, and watching the kangaroos. Unfortunately no camera with me, as the weather was a bit dodgy when I set out, so I left it at home.
I then stopped in at Ewlyamartup lake, which is a typical Australian misnomer, being a large dried up flat area with a puddle in the middle three times saltier than the sea. I got the bike all muddy.  It is not a dirt bike and does not like mud. I dropped the bike.  Fortunately into mud so no damage was done.  It was a bugger to pick up though, because apart from being old and weak, I could get no traction.  But I did it.
Most of the gravel roads here are good to ride, but I did find one that was a bit hairy.  Corrugations and shingle drifts.  Good practice.  I was glad to finally get back onto sealed road though.  Once I was well and truly lost, I told the Strike GPS to take me home, which it did, and I was surprised to find myself emerging on to the main highway south of Broomehill, where I stopped on the way back for a flat white at a local winery cafe belonging to Wadjekanup River Estate Wines.    I bought a few bottles of their products.  A Shiraz, a Merlot and a Cabernet Sauvignon.  Ironically, I came home to a meal of kangaroo stewed in red wine in my slow cooker.
You can buy roo meat at Woolworths here.  I don’t like the mince much, but the fillet steak is really good
About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Weekend

  1. Pingback: Another Road | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

Please comment!

