Diamonds on the Tyres of my Bike

I have been unable to blog for a bit, having no internet at home.  So there is a backlog for me to upload from my laptop.  I shall do it over the coming week.  They will be out of order, and here is the latest:
 
I had a great ride on the weekend.  I rode down to Albany on Friday.  I had a rostered day off. We get those once a month by working an hour extra each day.  I left at 6 and arrived just before 9.  I found a bike shop and bought some DriRider expandable pannier bags so I can pack luggage and do some shopping without having backpacks and grocery bags dangling off the bike.  Then I found a motel, dumped the luggage and went to town to organise my Medicare, get the internet, and  transfer my AA membership to the RAC.  All done before 12.  Then after a lunch of scallops and prawns in a creamy curry sauce, I went exploring the tourist trail around Albany.  Some lovely views and historical places…back to the motel for dinner, Really nice fish in a creamy white wine sauce, and early to bed.  Early next morning (Saturday) I started out for home up the Chester Pass road through the Stirling Ranges.  Really nice countryside. Especially in the bush.  That was kangaroo and emu country.  I saw a few dead roos and caught a glimpse of an emu, but by the time I had stopped and turned around it was out of sight in the bush.  Most of the great southern is rolling countryside, and the Stirling Ranges stick up most noticeably. Very scenic.  The road was really good for riding, and in this area they use some kind of quartz gravel in the roads, and with the sun at the right angle it is like driving on a shining road of sparkling diamonds.  Way cool.    I picked up with a couple of other elderly riders at a gas stop, and rode with them for a while until the Katanning turnoff where I went North and they went South.  Home by mid-afternoon. 

 

 I am definitely heading back to the Stirlings after I get the rest of my camera gear.  It is really lovely there, and I shall explore into them on the gravel roads.  I have been practising on the local gravel roads around Katanning, and the bike is fine, but by then I will have a new tyre on the back, which will be good.  I had the bike fully serviced last week, oil, filters, plugs and tune up all for only $200.  I have a new back tyre ordered for next week.   

 
About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diamonds on the Tyres of my Bike

  1. Pingback: Shining Road of Sparkling Diamonds | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

Please comment!

