Falling Behind

I have been falling behind.  I have no personal internet yet.  I have been so busy I have not really had time to research my options but I shall get onto it soon. 

A quick update from emails:

My new bedspread arrived from Ebay Australia  yesterday.  Now I have a manly bed.  What do you think?   

My Manly Bed

It is very comfortable. I bought a nice mattress and a basic bedframe with flexible slats underneath.  Much cheaper here than in NZ.  I have spent all my money, plus my first week’s salary, but that is ok because I can start saving like mad now, to have my girls visit.  My rent is only $30 a week, and all I have to spend my income on is groceries and energy.   

 I am pretty much set up in the flat now.  The flat is perfect for a single chap.  I have a TV, two sofas, table, chairs, coffee table, entertainment centre, drawers,  and there are so many cupboards in the flat I will never run out of storage.    I have everything I need except what I know is coming in my stuff from home.   So far all my cooking is in the electric wok, rice cooker or slow cooker.  I am waiting for my pots and pans. 

 I have a lovely new set of matching plastic containers!    

 I have joined a walking team, and I’m paying careful attention to my diet; low fat, not too much meat and plenty of fruit and veges.  I walk every morning before dawn.  I still wake up early. 

 The lawyer tells me the settlement is complete, and Mum has her money.  There was a little left over after he took another chunk of fee so I am thinking I shall transfer it  to the girls’ flat account, and close my account. I don’t want to have more problems with Infernal Revenue because they think I am still a resident, despite not being there.  However this means there will be no NZ back up  so I am still pondering the options.  It may not actually be a problem.    

I was going to go exploring on the weekend, but after I filled the bike with petrol I lost my wallet from my pocket while riding south, and spent the rest of Saturday cruising up and down the road looking for it.  It became obvious someone had picked it up, and since 80% of people are honest, I just hoped for the best.  Luckily I had a new library card from Katanning Library, the only clue in the wallet apart from my credit/debit cards. 

I got it back! 

 Next weekend I shall continue exploring.  I should have my Aussie drivers licence soon.  I did not have to sit a test, just pass a medical.  That cost me $66….

 So that is the news so far.

by the way, here is my bike:

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Falling Behind

  1. Pingback: Velociraptors | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

Please comment!

