Settling in.

after a bus to Kojonup, and a ride with my new boss to Katanning I had a brief induction and started fresh this morning.  Still setting up really, sorting out phones diaries and computers, and getting oriented, but it is clear there is going to be a lot of work to do. 

Once I have established myself here I am confident I am going to be quite content in this job and in this area.  There is a huge backlog of varied work to catch up on, and quite a lot of new things for me to learn.  Some interesting environmental health issues to deal with, and a lot of food premises to catch up on.  I shall be busy. 

I now have a new address. Early next week I shall be moving to a flat up the road. I have just been advised that the furnished flat I was to have for the next 6 months is no longer available – I have only slept in it one night – and I am moving into an unfurnished flat next week. So I have to get furniture. I have just been out to order a queen size bed, 6 seater table & chairs, coffee table and corner unit, three and two seater sofas, fridge and washing machine, sheets, duvet, pillows, towels etc. Maybe I should have shipped it all over instead of giving it all away. Such is life. The good news is, the prices of furniture are not too horrendous over here, the tables chairs etc are real wood, the bed is great – and I had been quite keen on having a new bed at least. I have ordered all the above items for less than $4K total, which I consider to be pretty good for new items of reasonable quality, and they will be delivered to my new flat next week. I still have enough for the bike, but I shall also have to get a bunch of things like kettle, toaster, wok, rice cooker, crockery and cutlery and so on. I am not buying pots and pans because some are on their way from NZ. I shall cook in a rice cooker and electric wok until they arrive.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

