Taking Flight

My last full day in Wellington. Tonight my girls and I shall dine out. It may be some time before we can do so again.

Tomorrow I fly to Auckland, where I shall spend a little time with my Dad, over from Ballina.  I shall miss attending his 80th birthday next month, due to my new commitment in Katanning.  On Saturday I shall fly to Perth, visit with my sister for a couple of days, and catch a bus to Katanning on Tuesday.

I have just been to see my solicitor, and signed a new will, and an agreement under the Matrimonial Properties Act.  If the other party does not sign, as far as I am concerned she can just fight on until the lawyers have eaten the oyster.  This stone is drained of blood.  As it stands, She gets 50K, I get 20K.  That translates into 14K Australian.  Enough for a bike, I hope.

For a short time it looked as if I might have come out of this mess with enough to establish a new retirement fund in Australia, but I had forgotten the merciless Inland Revenue.  Of what I might have retained, the IRD took $23,000 tax on the “tax free” job I had in Fiji.  Be warned. if you take a tax free (or any) job overseas you must first sever all ties with New Zealand.  Otherwise they will tax you.  I should have separated before I left.  Why didn’t I think of that?

Anyway, I have paid my debts, and the lawyer, set up my beloved daughters, and still retained enough to buy a motorcycle in Australia.  Of course it did not help that the exchange rate between NZ and Oz is the worst in recent history right now.  But what the hell, it is only money right?

Speaking of motorcycles, it seems the shoddy Fiji fuel did not do my Honda any good. I need not have brought it back to NZ.  It looks as if she needs a head job, and to fix it and get her back on the road with a new tyre VIN and registration was going to cost me over a couple of grand, so in the end I sold her “as is” for $500.

The Audi is still not sold. I plan to give it away.  The Toyota now belongs to the girls.  Almost everything else we owned is gone.  I have what I can carry; some clothes, a walkman and a camera.  I have despatched my good stereo and a few household items and a box of memorabilia to Australia, through NZ Vanlines.  That’s it.  The sum total of my life so far.  A stereo, a Kenwood Chef, a kava bowl, a few carvings and artefacts, and some pots.

It don’t mean nothin’.  Let it go.  Walk away.  Take flight.

Start over.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking Flight

  1. Pilgrim says:

    eBay.au
    motorcycles.
    4,633 results found for Under AU $15,000.00

    Like

Please comment!

