Sleeping on the Floor.

The story so far:  After a traumatic separation from his home and prized possessions, Alan has moved in with his daughters, sleeping on the floor of their student flat in the Aro Valley.

Now read on:

Another setback, sort of.  The Chch earthquake has affected Westpac where they do the money transfers, and the payment can’t be processed on time, but the upside is that the buyers become tenants and have to pay rent until the deal goes through.  So I will make a couple of hundred dollars out of it.  Eventually.  Westpac will actually pay it I believe.

I am so broke I can no longer pay for petrol to drive between the flat and Michelle’s place to sort things out, and I can’t find heaps of things I need, because I was not paying attention when it was packed, or did not label boxes properly.  I could have sworn I put my phone chargers in a handy and accessible bag.

I have applied to cash in my retirement funds.  That should alleviate matters. I can pay back some or all of the debt I have accrued.

June is on my back about her trophies and certificates which she cannot find, and I rather unkindly told her that I had lost or been forced to give away so much stuff of value to me that I gave not a fig for her problems.  It gave me no satisfaction.  Well, maybe a little.  And then I felt guilty about it.

Katanning are waiting for confirmation of my acceptability for registration with the WA Health Dept, and although I actually did that some years back, when i was considering a future in Oz, I have no record of the WA email of approval and must wait until they respond.  They do not seem to be in a hurry.

In the meantime I made myself available to the Ministry of Health to help with the public health aspects of the Chch crisis and they are getting back to me today about when, where and how I can help out.   That will give me something useful to do, and bring in some income.

Christchurch puts things into perspective somewhat, and I can see I am far better off than some poor souls, including some of my colleagues and friends.

 

Best wishes to them all…

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

