Goodbye to all that.

Update:

With the help of some good friends, and most particularly the help –  and particularly the support –  and a bit of counseling – from David – ! – I have emptied my house of everything and moved the girls into a flat in Aro Valley, close to Uni.   It has been traumatic for us all, and not at all easy, but somehow in the past week I got over a hump and was able to get rid of years of accumulated stuff having both intrinsic and sentimental value, and just let it go.  Not without pain, but at least with some confidence that it will all be ok.  Eventually.  I could not have done it without all the help and support.

On the up side, I have accepted a position as EHO (Environmental health officer) in the Shire of Katanning, West Australia. subject to a medical report and clearance of my qualifications from the WA Health Department – both a mere formality.  So, it looks as if I have a job, a free flat and a future in the outback.

On the down side I will be a long way from my girls and my friends, but it is time for us all to grow.  And for me to have a pet snake or lizard.

In any case we have Skype.

My house is empty, ready to change hands on the 24th.  I am sitting on the stairs with my laptop on my knee. The only object in sight is the Rug doctor, which has to go back tomorrow.  The girls have a small flat, two beds, some drawers, desks and a pile of boxes.   I have a few boxes to ship to Australia, a few things being kept by friends, and a motorcycle I don’t yet know what to do with.  Most of my possessions and all the rest of the furniture is gone to deserving homes.  It seemed the best thing to do.

It is all go.  I am just waiting now to hear that the settlement is sorted out, so that there will be money in the bank, and I hope we can get on with our lives.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

