Conversation

Now I have to consider seriously whether I really want to work in Katanning, West Australia, which is about as far away from anywhere as one can get. I have been offered a position there.  They said I interviewed the best by far. That is gratifying. They had shortlisted 4 applicants for interview, all from outside Australia.  It seems Aussies don’t want to work there.  I’m not sure yet whether I shall take it.  But I am thinking seriously about it.  After a bit of negotiating, they offered $2k towards shipping my stuff over, but I have to pay my own fare there.  Even that might still  be negotiable, perhaps.   If I accept assistance I am willing to be bonded for two years.

The job comes with a one bedroom furnished flat for the first 6 months (which also happens to be the “probationary period” after which there will be a new house available, that is currently being built.  I would have to leave most of my stuff in storage at $250 a month, for at least that first 6 months.  I would also have to  pay a fair bit to ship it over to Oz. There are a few other perks not available in NZ.  Better hours, better subsidised pension, more days off, better pay – in Australian currency…

Wombats, snakes and kangaroos, galahs and blue tongue lizards…

I should leap at it.  But it is a long way from Suma and Mata.  I still have interviews for New Plymouth, Tauranga and Invercargill coming up. No other Australian responses.

But Australia is where I wanted to go.  Of course I had originally hoped to go as a family…

Pondering mode…………………………….

Cues from my friend Jan:

1.      Yes, long way away. The main concern is the cost of seeing my girls.  A minus

2.      But interesting? Probably.  Certainly different from what I have been used to, and challenging too.  A plus.

3. Can understand why Aussies don’t want to work there. Younger people like the bright lights.  People my age are retiring. Probably a plus. But so far away from the sea, probably a minus.  Overall neutral.

4.      How’s your snake phobia? The opposite. I am an herpetophile.  A plus.

5.      Away from the girls……yes, it IS a long way.  But it is a job. Yep. and it is in Australia, where I vowed I would go to retire  I always said I wanted to work a few years in Aussie so I would have earned the right to retire there.  A plus.  However I have other applications in Oz, mostly by the sea.  Of course they have not given any indication of an interview, so don’t hold your breath…

6.      How long before you have to commit – and the other interviews. I asked for time to think it over until the 24th or shortly after, explaining that I had to settle my affairs and pay debts first. Also I pointed out that usually when one is recruited from overseas there is an offer of removal expenses and airfare.   A minus.  I have interviews on the 21st and 23rd, still waiting for one to be advised.

7.      Katanning vs Invercargill. Hmmmm……
Indeed.   Definitely a  plus.   But Katanning vs Tauranga?  More difficult choice.

8.      Go with your gut feeling…

That is the real problem.  My gut has latterly been letting me down rather consistently.

Still pondering…


About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

