Distractions

Normally I am good at finding displacement activities, and putting off the difficult and stressful tasks.  But right now I really want to get on with packing and moving.  yet I have to spend hours seeking and applying for jobs, researching and reporting financial details to the lawyer, attending useless and patronising WINZ seminars, arranging and delivering paperwork for flats and requesting power supplies and telephone connections to be set up or discontinued and so on.  I also need to eat, sleep and bathe, all of which are getting increasingly out of kilter.  I find myself taping boxes shut at midnight, stopping for a snack then showering at 2 am,  jerking zombie-like out of bed at 7 am to inject the cat with insulin and measure out his diet before drinking a strong coffee and reviewing the days “must do” list, then fumbling through the day until eating brunch at 2 pm.  Or as it happens today, at 3.  On top of it I feel a bit unwell.   That sort of tired, cold and tingly feeling that comes from having caught a chill.

And though I am exhausted, and probably clinically depressed, it is hard to sleep without the aid of Mr Jameson.

Lets just get this over. Money is not the issue.  Not any more.  I just need some peace.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

