Into the Void

I have accepted the offer on the house after a little dickering that brought me an extra couple of thou.  Not that I will see any of it once the mortgage is paid off.  It seems that the split is not going to be particularly 50/50.  In addition, I owe the IRD around 7K, probably more if they don’t accept my own assessment.  That is for the 09/10 year and assessed for the 10/11 year.  They are very likely to want a lot more.  Even I could see the flaws in my reasoning.  However the object was not to get the tax return precisely correct, but to get it in before the deadline, and avoid a late penalty.  They can work it out themselves.

I did not realise I needed to file a return for working in Fiji.  Bad research.

The girls and I now have to find somewhere to go, with all that it entails, and we have to do it by 24/2. but we shall have no money until then and probably not until long after, as I doubt the matrimonial settlement will be smooth. So we have to work out a way to pay bonds and rent.  A minor challenge only.  I have got this far, and shall get further.

On the plus side, my good friend Dave came for a visit, and pretty much saved me from despair and sinking into a morass of despondent inactivity.  I just could not get started.    Merely by getting me going then ruthlessly driving me on, he got the garage cleared, the chattels and effects triaged and a plan of action under way for the rest of the house.  Can do now. Without his intervention and firm brotherly impetus I would never have been able to meet the deadline to be out of the house.

I can do this.

Also on the plus side, some job vacancies are coming up, and I also have a tentative offer of a fixed term contract. I am just hanging in there.

I have borrowed a little more money from some good friends.  It will tide us over until the house is sold.  It is times like these that I really appreciate the wonderful friends I have.  I only hope that I can repay them all as befitting, before this lard encrusted old heart finally ticks out.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

