The Story So Far

I left Fiji to come back and sell my house, add up my assets, divide and give half  away, and begin a new life as a single rapidly-approaching-elderly gentleman.

I was overly confident that my skill, maturity and sound judgment, as well as my wit, good nature and inherent capabilities, would ensure that as soon as potential employers learned of their good fortune, they would be offering me positions from all directions.

Not so far.

So here I am.  Unemployed.  I have used up all the money I brought back with me from Fiji (which took two weeks for SOPAC to transfer to my account – by which time I was heavily in arrears of course, so it vanished on arrival), and am now living on borrowed money.  The hot water cylinder burst the week I arrived.  We were without hot water for a while until our plumber – one of Suma’s school friends – put a new one in for us.  Even at mate’s rates it blew out $1200.   My lawyer also took a grand up-front.

I finally went to WINZ for dole and supplementary benefit.  That is now delayed by a lack of people to interview me.   I can get no interview until mid December.  No interview, no dole.  Not that it would be much anyway.  Even so, I should have started the process sooner.  But I was vain enough to actually believe that I would step into a job shortly after I was back in NZ.

Reality check…

The next thing (today) was to humbly beg Westpac for a mortgage holiday until I get a job or sell the house.  I had already switched to interest only payments.  Things are not looking too good on the finance side and will be interesting indeed if Westpac turns me down.  I have suspended my insurance and retirement payments and borrowed money from Dad.

On the bright side I have 7 job applications out and so far only three applications declined.  Some don’t close until December.  Better still, the weather is fine; lovely sunny days after chill mornings.  Beautiful spring-to-summer days that are typical NZ.

Best of all it is really good to be back with my girls.  Despite the impending workhouse I took Suma and Mata out for an expensive meal on Mata’s twentieth birthday on Monday.  Noli illegitimos carborundum...

We are sorting things out, and the house goes on the market next week.  I have a skip in the yard, which will remove the accumulated crap of fourteen years of occupying this house, and I suppose I shall need a lockup for the stuff I am keeping.  Some of my junk is going via Trademe.  June is carting her own things away somewhere.  We have established a cordial working relationship, after a touchy start.  She arrived from Australia last week, and leaves again next.  She is  staying with a friend nearby.

I am pleased to report that I have not turned to drink yet- apart from a bottle now and then of that lovely Monteith’s summer ale – which, now that I have refreshed my memory, is SOOO much better than Vonu.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Story So Far

  1. Alan says:

    Of course not! Though some will definitely be going on to Trademe

    Like

  2. Pilgrim says:

    DON’T throw books away.

    Like

Please comment!

