I would just like to mention…

Harry Harrison.

Harry Harrison - Photo by Paul Tomlinson

Yep… Harry Harrison.

I believe he may have been my real introduction to science fiction.  At the age of about 11, I subscribed at a local magazine shop to a comic magazine called Boys World, and collected every copy of it from its inception until it amalgamated with Eagle around 1964.  Shortly after that I gave up.  It did not seem as good as it had been in years of yore.

I had collected all 40 copies of Boys World, from the first to the last.  I wish I had them now.  The most memorable thing in it for me was the serialisation of Deathworld, by Harry Harrison.  (Years later I recognised it in novel form).  Dan Dare had never caught my imagination as that did.  By the time I got to high school I was a confirmed SF geek.

Time to revisit.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

