They Live Amongst Us.

Bob drew this item to my attention, along with the comment I used as the title of this blog.

Possum skins burnt to ashes under the right alignment of the Moon and stars could be an alternative to 1080, says a group which wants a $330,000 ratepayer-funded trial to test it.

Ok, they clearly believe that there is some principle at work here, and if he were to explain the scientific basis of that, I could almost think it was worth a try were it not for this alignment of the Moon and stars thing.  That completely blows any possibility of being taken seriously.  To hypothesise that burnt possum might repel other possums is almost within the bounds of sanity, but my question would be – where would the possums go, that makes this idea a reasonable alternative to 1080?  The moon and stars?

The only way I see this idea working is if we catch ALL the possums in NZ, and burn them.

Proposal co-author Garry Blake said “My role has been to try and break the barrier between these ideas that are hard to comprehend and the real world.”

It is good to note that he realises these ideas don’t belong in the real world.   Why would he want to introduce them?  He should just go back to his happy place, and keep weaving.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to They Live Amongst Us.

  1. Robert Howard says:

    Don’t work. People notice coincidences. Mistaken belief. Fools.

    Like

  2. Pilgrim says:

    Yes,well.
    When I read the book on N.Z. bio-dynamic farming I found the chapter on removing possums from rehabilitated farmland by first trapping,then burning selected bits and scattering the ash to be somewhat ,err,hard to believe.
    But a little research showed that it worked for some people.
    I didn’t credit bio-dynamics at all until I saw an unirrigated farm knee deep in grass while its neighbours looked like a successful desertification trial.
    I don’t know why a lot of things work but that system is near the top of my “Hu?” list.

    Like

Please comment!

