Top Issues for Humanity

The impermanence of the world wide web!  Increasingly I find that links I created a while ago, no longer exist.  From now on I am going to copy and paste relevant items I wish to share, or on which I would like to comment.

A while ago I found an interesting item on the top ten issues humankind will face this century.  Now the link is  404 error.  I only noted the top three, which are:

No1: Energy

No2: Climate Change

No3 Clean safe water (or lack thereof).

Increasingly I find that water is being acknowledged as a serious issue. At last>  For most of us in developed countries it has always been someone else’s problem.  I think that user charges has had a lot to do with that.  That is a Good Thing.  When we pay for something, we appreciate it more.  Developing countries still have to learn that.  Everywhere I go, especially Tonga, there is a definite message that though water is a problem, someone else must pay for it. We don’t want to.

All this carbon trading crap is another example.  How, if you agree that excessive waste is a problem,  can you ethically trade the right to produce it, to the detriment of others?  It is like me saying if you drive at 50 on the motorway,  I can drive at 150, thanks!   let me put you ate risk.  It makes no sense to me.

UPDATE:

Ah, I found this.

In 2003, Nobel Laureate Richard E. Smalley outlined Humanity’s Top Ten Problems for the next 50 years, in a talk given for the MIT Enterprise Forum.  According to Professor Smalley, the biggest problems facing humanity are:

  1. Energy
  2. Water
  3. Food
  4. Environment
  5. Poverty
  6. Terrorism and War
  7. Disease
  8. Education
  9. Democracy
  10. Population

Interestingly, not quite as I recalled.  As for population being at number ten, I would suggest that if we gave that particular issue some concentrated effort, most of the others would be alleviated, if not solved.

They all have to go in some order I suppose, but perhaps not.  We should just list these ten things without any priority attached, in a circle perhaps, because let’s face it, they are all interactive.

Speaking of links;  nice page of interesting water facts and links here

I was going to cut and paste it all, but I am not sure if pasting the whole thing would be “fair use”.

More:   Matt Damon gets kudos from me for this. Not that kudos from me counts for much.

Lastly, being someone pessimistic, I think water wars are inevitable.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

