Product Placement

Today after a special SOPAC morning tea which I did not attend, the Director unexpectedly announced we could all have the afternoon off  and lengthen the upcoming three day weekend by a half day.  As the dust settled, I thought I may as well go too.  So I did.

I have not had any red meat for a while, and also I have a colleague from Nelson coming out on contract to review two Fiji WTP DWSPs with me.  So I thought I had better stock up on a few nice food items to cheer me up and to keep on hand in case I decided to cook for him.

Only one place to go for meat, and that is Wahley’s or Wah Lee’s in Flagstaff . I would like to tell you this is the very best place in Suva to buy meat, because it probably is, but I cannot say so for the simple reason that once I had shopped here, I saw no reason to ever try anywhere else.   The only other place I buy meat is Cost U Less, and then only the bargains.  Liver and a bit of chicken.  Also Australian bacon, once.  At Wahley’s the meat is fresh and good quality.  His eggs are the biggest and freshest, and probably the best available too.  All eggs in Fiji are pretty good.  The yolks are orange and the eggs much fresher than I ever found at home.  Wahley’s are larger and fresher still.  The large eggs are so enormous you are pretty much guaranteed a bunch of double yolkers. The problem is they won’t fit in the tray in the fridge.

His breakfast sausages are the best made in Fiji without doubt.  I have tried the other local sossies, and they are ok, mainly, but not really special,  with the exception of the Crest Supreme Chicken sausages which are pretty good.

Anyway.  I am stocked up with two dozen enormous eggs, minced steak that puts any NZ offering to shame. breakfast sausages, lean topside pieces for curry, and one large sirloin steak that cost $12 but I which I cut into 4 good 300g steaks.  No fish, I prefer to get that fresh on the day I cook it.

On the way back I called into a roadside vegetable stall, where I filled a bag with fresh string beans, ordinary beans, eggplant, tomatoes, capsicum, and siloti for $10.

That is enough for a fortnight.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Placement

  1. stefford says:

    I meant Topside!
    Not silverside!
    It is cheap and lean. T’will do.

    Like

  2. Pilgrim says:

    “lean silverside pieces for curry”
    That’s a new one on me.
    I use skirt or crosscut blade for curries.

    Like

Please comment!

