Same Crap, Different Dunny

So Windows Live Spaces announced they were closing the Spaces blogs down next year, and gave me the option to migrate here, delete, or leave my blog forever unchanging where it is.  And how long would it remain I wonder?  I did have the opportunity to download the entire blog, except the photos, which remain where they are.

Well, this is my diary.  For me more than anyone else.  I like to pretend I am writing for posterity, but I am fully aware that really, what I have to say is not of much interest to anyone else but me.  Perhaps a few friends.

I used to keep diaries and I now very much regret destroying them.  They gave me a picture of myself uncoloured by time and distance.  Now all I have is a few journals and letters I wrote when in Solomon Islands 25 years ago.

When I read these, and recall  others I destroyed, I realised what a prat I was,  self centred and shallow.  But they helped me to sort and order events in my head.  So I keep the Solomon ones.  Interestingly, I find that things I remember well may not have been significant at the time, and things I considered to be so then have been long forgotten.

When I re-read this one day I shall no doubt see how little I have grown over the years.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Same Crap, Different Dunny

  1. Dave says:

    Hey mate, don’t worry, thank you for being human.

    Like

Please comment!

