Random Thoughts

My good friend Dave referred me to this interesting blog , and wrote
"I keep finding myself going to this blog site and agreeing.  Am I becoming severely right wing? or just sick of PC?"

I noted that  the writer is  a fan of Robert Heinlein.  That tells me something.

I too find myself in agreement, at least partly, as I did with Heinlein,  and I also find myself thinking "But …" 

I
am certainly revising my views on Islam, especially when I read more and more of this sort of thing,  but also on cultural and
religious diversity/tolerance itself.  I have to remind myself that this medieval attitude was our own not so many generations back, and still is in parts of the so-called developed world. 

Rather than providing a ‘rich diversity
of human experience" I think culture and religion provide – problems.  

And then the but.  But what could replace them?  At this stage we run up against Godwins Law… 

Slightly appropos, but at a tangent, I am against burning ANY books, including the Qur’an and the Bible.  Books contain ideas, and ideas should be debated. rationally.   But the idea of burning a book as a symbolic gesture is also an interesting one, because if there are two books that surely deserve burning, that have done more harm to humanity by their very existence, it is the Bible and the Qur’an

I am no longer a supporter of freedom of religion rather an advocate for freedom from religion.   

Trouble is, some people need religion, or something like it, and I suspect that is because deep inside, we are still primitive nomads, feeling insecure, seeking some powerful leader to whom we may look up.  No human has the right qualities, so we invest the ideal qualities of a leader in some imaginary friend.  That is pretty scary, when one reviews the so called ideal qualities with which humanity has invested its imaginary leader at different stages.  Even the various descriptions and interpretations of this friend within the same book.  Even worse, the modern interpretations of a loving father yet that imply his hand behind horrendous events.  Not sure I would want a friend, or father, like that. 

I think I might be an objectivist too

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

