Ad Hominem

I don’t get angry often at people.  But it is becoming more frequent recently.  I am losing tolerance for the dim witted. Especially the prejudiced.
Sometimes you just don’t know what buttons are there, until someone pushes one.

I know I am (or was) smarter than 99.8% of the population, and I know quite well it is meaningless to say so.  Some of the other 99% are better educated, more dedicated, more capable and greater achievers than I ever was or will be.    I certainly have not done anything lately to demonstrate my superiority.  But I pride myself on my tolerance, and my ability to deal with folk.  So it was somewhat of a surprise to find myself snapping at someone in a social situation, simply because they were rudely disparaging and dismissive of films, genres, books, music, and other entertainment preferences of mine.   It felt as if they dismissed me as well as my taste.  So what?  Get a grip. 

I shocked a few folk with my aggressive response.  Someone was  rude, and I was forthright in return. It seems that only my response was a surprise. 

(Added later – after some pondering of my motivation)
The background to this was a social gathering of three people in my own flat, with  a bottle of rather good Australian wine, and a Chateau Cardboard carton of not-so good but quaffable plonk.  We discoursed on a range of subjects; favourite foods and recipes, countries we had visited, and of course books and movies we enjoyed.  One person did not appear to share the eclectic tastes of the others, and also demonstrated a limited  vocabulary, and ability for self expression, or appreciation of what it is that makes something memorable.  In other words, I came to the conclusion he is not very bright. 

 I have never had a problem with someone who does not share my opinions or my tastes.  But I find I have a problem with someone who dismisses and disparages them without courtesy or respect for my own opinion. 
The difference is, for example  " I don’t particularly like asparagus"  versus " I would not eat that shit" 

Especially when the latter comment is spoken with a disparaging sneer and body language  that appears to communicate not only an air of superiority on the part of the speaker, but an indignant aversion to having such things mentioned in their presence. 

One might get away with  that sort of comment once in a conversation, but it can become pretty annoying to hear repeatedly.  It is not the words, though.  It is the attitude.  The implication that I "eat shit" so to speak, and enjoy it, is very annoying. 

So finally I blew my top.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ad Hominem

  1. Glenn says:

    WE MUST NOT ALLOW INTOLERANCE!Fuck ’em mate.Who cares what the idiots think?Just sit back and watch them stand in it.

    Like

Please comment!

