Just a Question…

Fiji, despite having a high proportion of Hindu and Muslims, claims to be a Christian country.  I see no evidence of it being so, any more or less than any other country making the same claim.  In fact despite having the honour of knowing some very good decent people from many countries, I cannot think of a single country claiming to be Christian, which actually is, as a whole. This is particularly so in Tonga, which claims to be a strongly Christian society, but I perceive only Whited Sepulchres – which indeed appear beautiful outward, but are within full of dead men’s bones, and of all uncleanness.  Tonga is as corrupt as any Pacific country.  I saw examples of this hypocrisy in Solomon Islands, as well as hearing of it in many other countries.  At least the animist highlanders of PNG have the excuse of not being Christian.

Worst of all, anywhere, are the evangelists…  especially televangelists. 

Fiji is particularly susceptible to evangelists, coming here from overseas, organising huge rallies, collecting heaps of cash from people who can ill afford it, and moving on back to their luxurious lives. 
Should I feel sorry for these gullible victims?  Or contempt?  Well I feel sorry for them. They need something that religion offers.  I guess I don’t.  And that is why I do not like being prozelytised, or judged because of my own, in my view, more rational beliefs. 

So if someone gets too aggressive, I have a question I ask them. 

Below are the Ten Commandments in
Judaism, which are presented in Hebrew underneath.
The
second column contains the Ten Commandments in the order given by Augustine
of Hippo, and the third column lists the commandments as given by Origen of Alexandria.
Roman Catholics and Lutherans follow
the order given by Augustine, whereas Eastern Catholics, Orthodox, and
other Protestants follow the order given by Origen.

THE TEN COMMANDMENTS


JUDAISM*
AUGUSTINE
ORIGEN
1
I am the Lord thy
God.
I am the Lord thy God and thou shalt not have any strange gods before me.
I am the Lord thy God and thou shalt not have other gods besides me.
2
Thou shalt have no other gods besides me.
Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.
Thou shalt not make for thyself any graven image.
3
Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.
Remember to keep holy the Lord’s Day.
Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.
4
Remember the Sabbath Day to keep it holy.
Honor thy Father and Mother.
Remember the Lord’s Day to keep it holy.
5
Honor thy Father and Mother.
Thou shalt not kill.
Honor thy Father and Mother.
6
Thou shalt not murder.
Thou shalt not commit adultery.
Thou shalt not kill.
7
Thou shalt not commit adultery.
Thou shalt not steal.
Thou shalt not commit adultery.
8
Thou shalt not steal.
Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
Thou shalt not steal.
9
Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife.
Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
10
Thou shalt not covet.
Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s goods.
Thou shalt not covet.

So why am I, an atheist, albeit a christian atheist, who does not accept there is a god, but who thinks Christ gave some pretty cool advice, posting the Decalogue in a diary blog? 

Because I wanted to make a point about logic and consistency.  And ask my Question. 

Note the three versions all say…Thou shalt have no other gods besides me in some form or other.
thou shalt not have any strange gods before me.  
thou shalt not have other gods besides me.


There is only one God, I am told.  To which I reply; "So why does your God, in whom I do not believe, but you do, say otherwise?  Are you suggesting he is wrong?" 

It always gets a flustered reaction:  But note, in all of the statements above the exhortation is not that there are no other gods, (in fact a preposterous idea at the time) but that loyalty should be given to this one in particular.  I alone am YOUR god, do not worship any of the others!

So, if there were other gods back then, what about now? And where does that leave the monotheists? 

If there were not, why was their existence acknowledged in a document purported to have come from God himself?

I think that is a delightful paradox, even if only hypothetical because, after all, the answer is logical.

Could it be that in the stone, bronze and iron ages, people had primitive superstitions that were not logical or scientific, and we have somehow perpetuated them into the present day?  
 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Folklore. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

