Adrenaline

First – Be prepared.  I noticed the other evening that the bike felt a little unsteady swooping around the roundabout into Jerusalem Road.  I do not like that unsteady feeling at all.  I realised I had not checked my tire pressures for a while and went straight to the service station, where I first filled my empty fuel tank, and then attempted to inflate my tires.  I was having a great deal of difficulty getting the automatic pump to work, until a friendly chap pointed out that my kick stand was on the hose.  Oops. 

Once that was sorted, I restored my tire pressures to 30 front and 32 rear from the very dodgy 24/26 to which they had dropped.  That makes a hell of a difference in handling, and on these roads, with these drivers, one needs the best performance the bike can deliver. Resolution: Check tire pressures weekly. 

It was fortuitous that on this occasion, I did. 

On the way home yesterday evening, cruising at around 45, with a bus following me, just after I crossed the bridge on Fletcher road, past Vatuwaqa, a speeding van came around from behind the bus and cut straight in beside me, narrowly avoiding oncoming traffic.  A stupid overtaking manoeuvre by a stupid driver.  The sort that kills people.  The van was was motoring, and it actually touched my elbow as it went past, luckily not enough to throw me, but I was that close to actually hitting the van as it cut in. Only luck and stable tires allowed me to keep control as I swerved to the shoulder and back onto the road behind the van as it passed. 

Angry, I chased it. The van was doing almost 80 when I caught it near the Catalina St corner, but it slowed as it came up to the more sedate line of traffic queuing  for the Laucala Bay Road intersection. Instead of turning off into Beach Road and home, I followed the van to a dispatch yard in the street opposite the Post Fiji Stadium. There I confronted the driver with some well chosen words about reckless overtaking, speeding and the vulnerability of motorcyclists to fuckwit drivers.  I was actually on the point of fisticuffs, but with a major effort at restraint, restricted my attack to invective.  It made me feel a little better, but did not seem to arouse any contrition on his part. 

The funny bit was another little incident as I rode out of the yard.  Two dogs of the snarling bike-chasing variety came charging up to me.  Since my doggy prang, I have some fear of dogs on the road as they are even more unpredictable than taxi drivers, and more aggressive, and can easily end up under the wheels.  I am chased fairly regularly and it always gives me a bit of a start.  Another good reason to keep my tires at the right pressure.  Anyway, these two dogs attacked, snarling and yapping.  I was moving at only 10 or 15K, but not in a position to accelerate out onto the road away from them.  Still angry, and fueled by adrenaline, I just shouted "Feck Off!"  Something in my voice must have been quite convincing, because both dogs shut up and sat down quietly, and watched me pass.  That made me smile.

Home, bike parked and locked in the cage, I had a cup of tea, and let the stress drain out. 

Yesterday I felt road rage such as I have not experienced before.  I really could have assaulted that little shit.  

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adrenaline

  1. Pingback: Wednesday 1 August 2012. | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

  2. Alan R says:

    Not the first time, but the most intense…

    Like

  3. Glenn says:

    Really?That’s the first time you’ve wanted to smash another driver just because they care about you less than getting mud on their car?I feel that way several times per average working day.Take the blood pressure pills.

    Like

Please comment!

